Testing 1, 2, 3

So testing is tomorrow and I am slightly freaked out.  Freshmen are taking the Explore Test, sophomores must suffer through the PLAN test, and juniors will face the PSAT.  As a sophomore, I understand that there are other people with bigger problems, a heavier workload, and much scarier tests, but I still can’t help feeling intimidated when I take any test, never mind tests that are supposed to prepare me for admission to college.   In fact, I know a lot of people who feel this way about testing.  I have teachers who have confessed to having the same experience in high school.  Heck, I’m pretty sure there is a psychological condition called test anxiety.  Now I’m not a psychologist, and I am completely unaware of the technical stages of test anxiety.  So as a substitute to factual medical analysis (lol facts???), I decided to edit a series of pictures that illustrate my typical pre-test day ritual.

1.) Procrastinate until the day before the test.  Feel slight discomfort in the pits of stomach.  Sometimes described as “butterflies”.  More accurately described as severely aggravated hornets.  

2.) Begin to realize that maybe you should have spent time studying instead of agonizing over potential failure and start to feel the dreaded mix of apprehension and fear.  Aforementioned frustration may or may not manifest itself as tears.  (I’m not a biologist either, but this is quite possibly how tears are formed.)

3.) State of apprehension evolves into a demonic fit of rage followed by muffled pleas for help and disturbed sleeping patterns.  Often times subject will promise to wake up early in the morning, but end up oversleeping nevertheless.

And so completes the pre-test cycle.  Which I am in fact partaking in at this very moment.  By writing a blog post about the benefits of studying, instead of, I don’t know, actually studying?  Oh well, at least I’ll pass any English questions on situational irony.

Good night and good luck,

~Celine

Update: Interestingly enough, I found another picture that attempts to convey the three stages which constitute test anxiety.  I would say that this picture’s interpretation is similar to my own.

Leave a Reply

