MLK Day

There are very few people who have changed the course of history so drastically that their imprint may never be revoked from this world.  There are even fewer whose actions give me the opportunity to take a day off from school.  Thank you, Martin Luther King, Jr.

First and foremost, yes, I would like to acknowledge my extraordinary gratitude for the extra day to study for finals.  It was much appreciated and very necessary.  But that is the least meaningful gift you have bestowed onto this world.  You have changed the way that people look at each other.  Your words still echo with their earnest, with their conviction.  You do not judge a person by the color of his skin.  No, you judge a person by the content of her character.  You had a dream.  A dream that was pushed forward by protest, by indignation, by the power of an outspoken mind united against the injustice being shoved down our throats.  Thank you.

I am sorry that I only remember you from what I learned in elementary.  I am sorry that I am too consumed in trivial things to remember the sacrifices of those before me.  Forgive me.  I am only trying my best in a world that is brighter because of you.

Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that.  – Martin Luther King, Jr.

Leave a Reply

