Looks Can Be Deceiving

So my English class has moved on from the death and devastation of World War I, and we are now exploring the turmoil and treachery of post-Napoleonic France.  Oh yes, we’re reading The Count of Monte Cristo.  Or should I say the Count of Hottie Cristo?  I can’t believe I just said that.  Am I besmirching the name of Alexandre Dumas?  But come on, look at that face.

Let’s not overlook the fact that the one in the middle is basically Kevin Jonas from the 1800’s.  You know a guy is handsome when he can work the sideburns, though, admittedly, those are probably best left in the nineteenth century.  I just hope he doesn’t pull a Hans on me.

In addition to the teenage heartthrob covers, let’s talk a little about the actual story.  It’s very romantic.  And I don’t mean that it places unnecessary stress on romantic relationships; the book will probably end with two dead and five wounded, but it was written during the Romantic period.  (But I’ll have to check my AP Euro notes because I don’t exactly remember what that means.)

Historical relevance aside, the book is absolutely captivating.  I’m barely a fifth of the way in and I can feel myself becoming more and more invested with the story.  I don’t want to go into too much detail yet because spoilers, but I will tell you one thing.  This book is about the Count of Monte Cristo.

11 thoughts on “Looks Can Be Deceiving

  1. I believe Hans is more a Danglars, not a Dantes. I totally agree with you. One chapter in this book and I was hooked! Its much better than the past books I’ve read in old English classes. (Second place book I’ve read for English would probably be “Death on the Nile”)

    Like

    • Ooh, “Death on the Nile” was definitely full of plot twists, too. And a lot of characters in Monte Cristo seem super innocent now, but I’m anticipating more of “The Back-Stabs”, as you would call them. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

