A Mental Continuum

So, I was thinking about Monte Cristo, and things just got deep.  Below is an excerpt from my argument about character(s) having multiple personalities.

“…there is no such thing as a stagnant human entity. Like, I am not the same person I was five seconds ago – because we are always changing; we grow with each new experience; we absorb things into our personality, and this creates something of a mental continuum. And because living beings are continuous, there is no such thing as a former self. There is no such thing as a future self. There may be no such thing as a self at all.”

13 thoughts on “A Mental Continuum

  1. THIS GIVES ME CHILLS AND I CAN’T STOP RETHINKING AND QUESTIONING EVERYTHING I HAVE EVER BEEN TAUGHT OR TOLD OR EVERYTHING I HAVE EVER LEARNED AND I LOVE WHEN THIS HAPPENS TO ME BECAUSE MAYBE I CAN DO WHATEVER I WANT AND MAYBE I CAN HAVE THE UNCONVENTIONAL LIFE AND MAYBE HIGH SCHOOL AND COLLEGE DON’T EVEN MATTER AND MAYBE I CAN BE SOMETHING SPECIAL AND YOU ALWAYS MAKE ME FEEL THIS WAY CELINE AND I HOPE YOU MAKE EVERYTHING FEEL THIS WAY BECAUSE IT IS SUCH AN IMPORTANT WAY TO FEEL AND SUCH AN IMPORTANT THING TO REALIZE (AND I APOLOGIZE BUT MY CAPS LOCK IS ON AND I FELT THAT IT NEEDED TO STAY ON FOR THIS COMMENT)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

